December 11, 2011

December 11th, 2011

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:18 pm by satinmoon

Image

Hello everyone!  Please allow me, Linda Rafuse, to introduce myself as the new owner of Satin Moon.  I am thrilled to be re-locating to the beautiful city of Victoria and over-joyed to become a part of the local quilt scene.  I know I am joining a very talented pool of local quilters, designers, teachers, and authors.  I look forward to building a relationship with each of you.

I suggest I am a perfect example of Generation X; this will be my 4th (and final) career change.  I began my career in Psychiatric Nursing, have worked in the Health Insurance industry, and most recently in Adult Education (health-related).  I have always hoped for the right opportunity to exercise my entrepreneurial spirit.  

My quilting passion began about 7 or 8 years ago when my cousin, Cheryl, re-located to Alberta after having lived in Alaska.  She worked with neo-natal babies and was so impressed by the colorful little quilts placed over the isolettes that she asked a colleague (Ann) to teach her to quilt.  I was somewhat reluctant at that time; although I had always wanted to quilt…I thought I didn’t have enough space, enough time, maybe not enough talent.  Does any of that sound familiar?  Well, after the first class I was hooked!  I had long been a garment sewer but discovered quilting is so much more fun!!  The colors, the textures, the creativity and freedom to invent…what’s not to love?

I have been involved in the Sherwood Park Quilt Guild and volunteered in a number of roles with the guild.  Guilds are an excellent place to make friends, learn more, and continually be inspired.

I have been working with Brenda and Gordon at Satin Moon to ensure the successful continuation of Satin Moon.  I’m sure you will agree they are a fabulous couple, and I want to thank them for all of their support.   

I will be moving the shop early in the New Year and it will then be known as Satin Moon Quilted Garden.  I can tell you that I have selected a new location in downtown Victoria (lots of parking and close to transit too) and I ask for your patience while I get all those pesky details worked out.  I hope to have the new store open by early February.  In the meantime I will keep you posted on the progress and some new things that I have coming up….please, stay tuned for more news…there will be no interruption in online ordering during this transition.  I am anxious to meet all of you as soon as possible!

Warmest wishes,

(and a few of my own quilt projects),

Linda

Image

Image

 

Image

1 Comment »

  1. Elizabeth said,

    Welcome to Victoria Linda, I’m sure you’ll like it as your home.
    Yes I’ll be shopping at Satin Moon Quilted Garden, & look forward to meeting you.
    Thinking of a quilt guild to join?
    Westshore Quilter’s Guild @ http://www.westshorequiltersguild.com is a wonderful, friendly to all group. Drop into one of our meeting & let us show you our hosptality.
    Have a Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year.

    Elizabeth Beavan


Leave a Reply

