March 10, 2010

Needle turn with Daphne : books and patterns

Posted in People of Satin Moon, Techniques and Materials tagged , , at 2:01 am by satinmoon

Sunday I  sat  in on a Satin Moon  needle turn applique class .

My goal was to learn more about the best tools

and resources  from Daphne and the other students .

My choice of fabrics to use was from a new line called Timber

by Jessica Levitt for Windham Fabrics

According to Daphne , needle turn is

“One of the portable techniques . It takes very little preparation (unlike some other methods of applique) and the small amount of supplies . I can slip a project into a small bag, into my purse and off I go. It is also great for a vacation project.”


Daphne is a great Piece O’Cake fan. In this newest book, she likes the freer more expressive techniques.

But , Robyn Pandolf’s techniques are dearest to her heart.

Daphne  feels that this book, with the CD is a terrific resource for technique and design.

The CD offers design modules based on the major projects in the book, along with technique videos on Robyn’s needle-turn appliqué technique.

I love the gentle folk art designs that can easily change mood with fabric choice.

Susan McGregors’ choice for all time comprehensive best reference. is by Janet Pittman.

Canadian Aie Rossman’s offers lyrical designs and a magical colour sense.

Many of us were lucky to meet her at a Victoria Guild meeting , and are great fans of  her patterns.

Daphne pointed out that almost any machine applique pattern

could easily be converted to needle turn.

Ladies of the Sea is the ultimate applique pattern  for me.

I saw it and brought the patterns back 2 years ago at Quilt Market in Houston.

I can hardly wait until Hannah   completes hers.

Just as lovely, but perhaps a little less intense is Simple Gifts, my favourite applique pattern from market last spring.  Rumors are Myrna has one well under way.

I also fell in love with this  HUGE and impressive Roses wall quilt 41×59  for the shop.

Joan is working on it right now, and it should be in the shop within the month,

Stop in again Thursday

and I’ll share the favourite needles and tools

and links to tutorials.

2 Comments »

  1. Georgina said,

    Hello I am from Australia – Love the green tote bag you have on your site – can you please tell me what brand it is and where I can get one. It is just what I need.

    • satinmoon said,

      Dear Georgina,
      I do apologize, I cannot find my link for that one, but I will keep searching. You might find something similar googling JOBMAX tool carrier , or Keenfield tote.


Leave a Reply

